Loose ends

Work continues on my dissertation.  I’ve added a further few names to my list of Mabbott’s correspondents, and I’ve codified much of his known correspondence and am in the process of going through it for any missed clues.  I’ve found a few already.  Then I will resume going through the pamphlets published while he served as licenser.

There has been one interesting development, however.  I may have tracked down Gilbert’s son, Kympton, to Cornwall.  I’m headed down to the Huntington soon to see if I can find a will in any of their indices of wills.  I am hopeful.  Apparently, Ellen, the widow of a Kympton Mabbott, left some money for a charity in 1711.  The timing is right for Kympton’s second wife, and I do believe that he remarried in 1702 or 1703.  More on that soon.

As well, there does seem to be some strange information floating around out there.  A number of genealogical sites seem to think that Diana Mabbott, Gilbert’s daughter, was the niece of Edward Hyde, Earl of Clarendon.  One site thought that she was the daughter of Kympton Mabbott and Susan Hyde.  As far as I can tell, this is wrong.  I think that it is a the result of a sham lineage for an early nineteenth-century family.  I can’t prove that yet, but none of the years add up.  According to the report published by the Deputy Keeper of the Records in Ireland, Kympton married one Susan Moss in 1676 (which has some other ramifications for my research which I won’t get into now).  There is no way that a man born in 1653 could have a marriageable daughter by 1675, a year before he married.  Diana Mabbott did marry Sir Henry Tuite, as the genealogy sites say, but she was much more likely the daughter of Gilbert, born to him and his wife in 1652, than any offspring of Kympton.  Could there have been another Kympton Mabbott in Dublin?  Yes, but since Kympton was clearly a name borrowed from Gilbert’s wife’s side of the family (brother’s and mother’s maiden name), it seems unlikely.

But if the Mabbotts married into the Hyde family, that would definitely be something to note.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Loose ends

  1. Dennis Lowe

    Fact: Diane Mabbott and Henry Tuite married in Dublin, 1675 (Dublin Grant Index, p15).

    I also came across a record in the Calendar of State Papers that Gilbert Mabbott and his son Kympton obtained a license to transport wine (I will look for it again, but it was sometime between 1645 and 1660).

    In Feb 1648, Gilbert Mabbott, son of Gilbert and Martha was christened in St. Margaret’s, Westminster, London.

    The peerage books place Diane Mabbott as the niece to Edward Hyde, Earl of Clerendon. These can be found online at Google.books.

    • gilbertmabbott

      Thanks for your comments. The wine license was granted soon after the Restoration and Gilbert took it up in 1662. He, Kympton, and William Clarke were all named. Gilbert jr, born in 1648 as you say, died in 1650. It’s the peerage books that I question. The Diana Mabbott that married Sir Henry Tuite was almost certainly Gilbert Mabbott’s daughter with Martha Mabbott (née Hilliard), and not any niece of Edward Hyde, but one of these days I will get into looking around the Hyde family tree to see what was going on there.

Leave a Reply

