Dissertating and Microfilming

Isn’t that how everyone spends their days?  I am currently scanning in newsletters from the microfilm reels of the Clarke Papers, and I have been working more on one of my dissertation chapters.  I can not believe how slowly the writing goes.  Didn’t I used to write faster than this?

Right now I’m working on a section discussing Mabbott’s role as agent for the army.  In this particular chapter I am trying to steer away from discussing his licensing duties, though it will come up, in favor of more usual kinds of agent work.  Most agents were not press licensers, after all.  However, even this can be subsumed into the larger function of London agents, which seems to have primarily been the control of information.

I am also surprised at the lack of work on lobbying during the period.  This isn’t to say that it has been ignored, certainly not, but I am looking for a particular kind of lobbying, more akin to what historians like Dean and Green have found in the Tudor parliaments.  I want to see who bribed whom how much and to do what.  If anybody knows work on this for the Stuart parliaments or the Commonwealth, and not about men-of-business or undertakers, I’d really appreciate it.  Lenthall was notoriously bribeable (I’m not sure if that is a word, and if it is, that it isn’t mispelled), and considering the number of famous clerks from the period, like the Frosts, Scobell, Brown, Elsynge, Thurloe, Rushworth, etc., it seems like there should be more on this kind of matter.  I’m sure they weren’t any harder to bribe than their sixteenth-century counterparts, and they could probably offer even more interesting services.

Anywho, I think I’ll take a break now.  It’s been an exhausting couple of weeks, and we are throwing a party tomorrow, so I’ll need my energy.  It will be, for reasons we won’t get into, 1996-themed.  You wouldn’t believe how much of the 90s was encapsulated in music released in 1996.

Leave a comment

Filed under Mabbott

Leave a Reply

