Back in Santa Barbara

Well, I made it back to Santa Barbara last night.  It was a very enjoyable vacation, for the most part, in the northwest.  To correct something I said earlier, you can in fact get a number of real ales up there.  Cask conditioning is very “in,” it would appear.  The beer was delicious, and I got to take my girlfriend to my favorite old haunts up in Seattle.  Corvallis was gorgeous, and we took some trips out to Newport (Rogue Brewery HQ) and Portland to see an old roommate.  Portland is a great town, too.  We capped it off with a couple of nights at my parents in the Bay Area, and are back in action now down south.

We also got to go see the Yankees destroy the Mariners at Safeco Field.  The game was unpleasant, but it was still fun, and the ball park is fantastic.

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got for now.  By the way, I’m thinking of starting a facebook page for old Gilbert sometime soon, so keep an eye out for that.  He’s been dead for some three centuries, so he’ll need help finding friends.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

