“Please sir, get out of your chair”

Another one of those days that I feel like I did a lot and then had very little to show for it at the end of the day.  However, I will at least be able to vote in November; I took care of my absentee ballot registration.

More to the point, I did get to transcribing one and a half of Mabbott’s newsletters.  I still have a bunch of photos of the newsletters in Hull that I haven’t gotten to yet.  However, I was pleasantly surprised to realize that I was reading one where Mabbott described Cromwell’s expulsion of the Rump!  My favorite part was when he says that Lenthall was “modestly” pulled out of his chair by another MP.  I also thought to doublecheck Woolrych’s Commonwealth to Protectorate and found that he quoted the same newsletter, but sent to William Clarke rather than the Hull corporation.  He notes the similarity, giving credit to Blair Worden for bringing it to his attention.  Anyway, I checked out the newsletter in the Clarke Papers (which I found online by doing a search for “Clarke Papers 3.”  I love the internet.)  I found that the endings of both were actually quite different, even if most of the letter was the same.  I’ll have to take some time to figure out why these were different.  The information was not such that the Hull fathers and an army secretary needed to be told separate things.

I also came up with an idea for a paper on published sermons, but I’m not sure if I’ll ever have the time to go through with it.  I can content myself with knowing that someone has probably already done it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Long Parliament, Mabbott, Print Culture, William Clarke

Leave a Reply

